Home General ASD

Job recommendations?

darkcloak_dragondarkcloak_dragon New Member, Member
I'm barely able to do any work but I'm trying because I was denied disability and have very low income. I have a STEM degree, I'm a good writer, I'm great with computers, and I have experience editing and tutoring college-level math. However, I can't handle any noise (or listening) beyond being in an empty room, commuting exhausts me, I can work only a few hours per week, and I can't deal with people unless they are infants (although I could handle a few notes/emails per day communication with co-workers). I think my job counselor has no idea how to help me.

Any suggestions? I have worked freelance from home before, but I couldn't handle the stress of continually finding and communicating with new clients and continually starting brand new work projects. Most of the work-from-home opportunities are basically scams.

Comments

• If by "great with computers" you are referring to programming, "contractor" work in that area may be possible, or you may be able to find a company where you can "work from home" with minimal interuptions (although applications like Slack will likely be required) - "Great with computers" and "ability to deal with infants" also sounds like "tech support" could be an option :)

Another area might be something like website development which you could do from home with minimal outside interuptions.

Knowing which country you are based in would possibly help people give more appropriate suggestions, as what works\is available down here in Australia, may not be applicable for someone in the UK, for example.
  • verityverity Administrator, Citizen
    edited June 2023
    I'm a programmer who works from home.