Homeā€ŗ General ASD

Autism 'levels'

I recently overheard a colleague, whose child has been diagnosed with autism, explaining to our team that there are 'three levels of autism'. He was describing the difficulties that his child was experiencing.Ā 

I know that these broad levels are used to refer to the amount of support that an autistic person will need. But I was concerned that this simplistic reference to 'levels of autism' risked leading those who don't know much about the subject to conclude that other 'levels' are somehow 'milder' - in other words, relating the extent of support to the subjective experience of the individual.Ā 

I know that the debates around such language aren't new. But for me, they had an immediate relevance because I am new to this team and have been trying to explain my needs to my colleagues. These are difficult for them to understand, partly because I probably don't appear autistic to the casual observer. The task is made harder by simplistic language. I tried to explain this, but with limited success! What suggestions do others have for this kind of situation?

Comments

• HylianHylian Citizen, Mentor
    I noticed it's very hard to get people to not view "support levels" as "levels of severity", even in ASD groups. I usually just explain that the "levels" are for support purposes only and don't entirely denote how severe/mild someone's overall symptoms are, and they can either choose to take in that information or not. Some people don't want to think of them not as "levels of severity", for some reason, and you often can't really waver their opinion.
  • AmityAmity Administrator, Citizen
    I find that there is little understanding of Autism generally in the Rep of Ireland or in the UK and people tend to have preconcieved ideas almost regardless of the persons disability.

Levels viewed through the lens of severity, reminds me of language associated with the medical model of disability.