Home Life Skills

Does ADHD disqualify you from joining the (U.S.) military?

HylianHylian Citizen, Mentor
Now that I have a high school diploma I've started thinking about joining the military, which I have thought about and looked into before, but I also have realized that I have an ADHD diagnosis which could disqualify me.

I've found things online saying that if you can go without treatment for 2 years you can enlist, and I honestly don't want to take ADHD medicine anymore since it doesn't do much for me, so I could do that if needed. Does anyone know for sure that having ADHD/going through ADHD treatment disqualifies someone from joining the military? Could you get a waiver or something if your ADHD wouldn't massively affect your performance?

(As for autism which does disqualify people and I know might get brought up, I don't have a diagnosis, nor do I plan on mentioning having it since I don't believe it'd affect me much in the military.)

Comments

• Statest16Statest16 Citizen, Mentor
    I doubt it honestly,they would give you psychological testing but I doubt ADHD would cause you to fail.
  • Teach51Teach51 Citizen
    edited June 2021
    My son was a combat soldier in the IDF with ADHD, he passed all the necessary tests but ADHD is not a contra-indication to join the military over here. He did some crazy stuff though in the army because he is so impulsive. Would ADHD lower your profile Hylian? What job would you like to do in the army?
  • HylianHylian Citizen, Mentor
    I don't believe that ADHD would massively affect my performance in the military, at least not at this point. I have better self control now as an adult (even if I'm sometimes hyperactive, but it kind of benefits my physical performance) and have gotten okay at staying on task, following directions, etc. I also don't have issues with listening to authority or anything like that, which I know can be a concern (if I did I would not be considering going into the military 😂).